Yellow Flies: They Bite, You Itch, and There’s Nothing You Can Do

3 Oct

Yellow fly season is May and June in damp environments. Henceforth I will check to make sure I won’t be where they are.

  1. They find me delicious.
  2. There’s no spray to prevent them from biting.
  3. There’s no ointment to alleviate the itch.

During a two-day period I collected over 30 bites per leg, making my feet swell with poison. I fantasized about oatmeal baths and a poultice–yes, a poultice.

2 Responses to “Yellow Flies: They Bite, You Itch, and There’s Nothing You Can Do”

  1. Stacy T October 4, 2011 at 9:31 AM #

    1. Sounds dreadful 2. “Henceforth” is underused in the common vernacular

  2. plonde October 4, 2011 at 9:56 AM #

    you made me giggle!

Leave a Reply

