Mississippi: Highways, Farmland, and Kudzu

9 Sep

Welcome to Mississippi SignThe Magnolia State?
Not in the Delta, where I visited. I’ll have to return for a mint-julep experience.  Regardless of the landscape, the people are gracious, cordial, and charismatic.

I’m not a Farmer, but I Play one on TV
If you’re not a farmer, packer, or trucker, you’re in business to support them. Equipment and repair stores abound. As do boat-and-tackle stands for the day-off. The locals  may call on the same company for termites and insulation needs, but there’s an entire store dedicated to chain saws, another for small motor repair, and one solely for lawn mower repair. They’ve got their priorities straight.

Apparently I AM Old Enough to Be Called “Ma’am”
…even by people older than I am. I fought it at first and then succumbed. What’s a girl to do? The forces are too strong.

Rural Royalty
Some may think Elvis is King. Or even Cotton. But I’m here to tell you it’s Kudzu. Not from respect, but presence. Now John Deere, that’s a whole other regime of royalty.

What kind of experience have you had in Mississippi?
Was it similar to mine or different?
Where should I visit when I return?

Can’t see the slideshow? Click here.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Mississippi, posted with vodpod
3 Responses to “Mississippi: Highways, Farmland, and Kudzu”

  1. Karen September 9, 2011 at 11:45 AM #

    Gorgeous photos!

    • plonde September 9, 2011 at 11:53 AM #

      Thanks, friend!

  2. Eszter September 12, 2011 at 8:57 AM #

    I get called Ma’am all the time, too. In Hungary, there is formal speech and informal speech – you speak the formal to your elders, it is a sign of respect (simplifying here with the explanation, of course). When kids started speaking to me in the formal voice, I had to start accepting the fact: I look like an adult. I don’t have to feel or act like it all the time, but I am.

    Yay for young adults!

Leave a Reply

