DragonCon: Oh, the Humanity!

3 Sep

Star Wars Storm Trooper HelmetsThe DragonCon parade was more than a girl could hope for!

Elementary school friend Naomi and I went early for the “mustering,” where the folks in the parade gather by theme (Star Wars, Super Hero, etc.). It was a fantastic behind-the-scenes peek: the juxtaposition of half-costumed people drinking Gatorade, hearing stories of how the costumes were made and their authentic materials, getting as close to the Wicked Witch of the West as I ever care to.

Naomi was my guide during the parade, introducing me to worlds of sci-fi, fantasy, and super powers. Silly me, I thought they were all the same. Not so.

This was absolutely the best parade I’ve ever seen! There were moments of acrobatics and combat fighting; wizards galore; and more people pointed a fake a gun at me than I could have hoped for.

A zombie growled at me and I blew in kiss in return–I’m not sure of the etiquette, was that the right thing to do?

What’s the best parade you’ve seen?

Can’t see the slideshow? Click here. Want to see even more pics and see them all full size? Click here.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

DragonCon, posted with vodpod
4 Responses to “DragonCon: Oh, the Humanity!”

  1. Raye September 4, 2011 at 5:49 PM #

    Wow…I’ve heard of DragonCon but had no concept of the depth, breadth, and width of creativity and participation. Thanks for great photos; you opened a new world!

    • plonde September 5, 2011 at 8:47 AM #

      Happy to teach the teacher

  2. Naomi September 5, 2011 at 8:43 AM #

    Paula, these are beautiful!!

    Wanna go next year, too? hee hee!

    • plonde September 5, 2011 at 8:46 AM #

      Go with you, I will.

Leave a Reply

