This Town Ain’t Big Enough for the Both of Us

16 Jul

gun showI saw the Gun show ad in the paper and thought it was another chance to expand my bubble world. Indeed it was.  Being cognizant of the fact that people have guns isn’t the same as being confronted with it. This was terrifying. An underworld that isn’t even under.

The show happens monthly – to keep up with the apparent demand. In the 30 minutes we were there easily 100 people shopped for used guns. Several obvious gang members and others who are militia. And there’s Dad, cousin/friend Eszter and me – some of these things are not like the others.

Guns are expensive. Hundreds of dollars. And HEAVY. I was blown away. No pun intended.

While I don’t care for hunting, I can tolerate buying a gun to shoot an animal. I’m not quite so comfortable with people shopping for guns to shoot other people. I picked up one with an extra nozzle on the end and asked what it was. The man said it was for a “subduer.” “You mean a silencer?” “Yes.” Time to go.

Where have you gone that’s outside your bubble world? What did you learn?

2 Responses to “This Town Ain’t Big Enough for the Both of Us”

  1. Dick July 17, 2011 at 2:42 PM #

    I’m not just a 2nd amendment nut I also believe that we will have a great deal of civil unrest in the next few years due to the economy and tax code. If you don’t own a gun you should get one and learn how to use it. Queasy or not you may have to defend yourself and the homestead.

  2. mtblock July 17, 2011 at 4:33 PM #

    A shooting range two years ago. Shot a [insert name of gun I don’t remember other than it was black and loud]. Leigh and I took turns in our “botth” each shooting a paper target. Exhilirating though very scary for all the reasons you shared. I like my bubble.

Leave a Reply

